University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland

  • Basel

  • Muttenz

  • Olten

  • Solothurn

  • Brugg

University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland

The HES-SO University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland comprises 28 institutions of higher education. Its various study streams and research activities fall into six faculties: Design and Fine Arts; Business, Management and Services; Engineering and Architecture; Music and Performing Arts; Health; and Social Work.

The daily ambition of the HES⁠-⁠SO is to ensure the quality of its training, its applied research and its services. At all levels, it is considering consolidating, developing, improving and modifying its practices for the benefit of students, teaching and research staff, administrative and technical staff and the institution as a whole, without forgetting its partners.

The Bachelor and Master study programs are evaluated as part of the HES⁠-⁠SO study program evaluation process, overseen by the Rectorate. The continuing education programs (MAS / EMBA) and the fields of study in the Health field submitted to the LPSan are evaluated, respectively accredited, by an external agency. The evaluation of teaching by students is managed by the universities.

In addition, the HES⁠-⁠SO offers various support services within the framework of the self-assessment of the study streams by the carriers of the stream (teaching dicastery).

The teaching practice is also supported by the Quality Department, notably through support for the academic and pedagogical development of teaching and research staff (PER).


icon Bachelor Programs (43)

icon Master Programs (38)